For older adults comparing HMB supplements, Nutricost HMB 1500 mg with Vitamin D3 is my best overall pick in this lineup because it pairs HMB with a clearly listed added nutrient, though its D3 dose deserves a medication and supplement check. Nutricost HMB Powder stands out for people who want to adjust how they take it, while Optimum Nutrition HMB Capsules offer a straightforward capsule option. The main tradeoffs are capsules versus gummies or powder, HMB per serving, added ingredients, and how easy the label makes daily use. Product formulas and serving directions vary, so the listed amount alone does not establish which option is right for an individual. Read on for the full comparison and practical guidance on choosing with a clinician’s input.
Turn the school run and nap time into listening time
- Thousands of audiobooks, podcasts and originals
- Listen on your phone, tablet or Echo — also offline
- Cancel anytime
Complete the kit
Key Takeaways
- Format is a major point of difference: the lineup includes capsules, softgels, gummies, and powder, so swallowing comfort and preparation preferences may matter as much as serving size.
- Added ingredients call for label checks: several picks combine HMB with vitamin D3, leucine, or calcium; these may duplicate nutrients already taken or require a clinician’s review.
- Serving amounts are not directly comparable at a glance: some labels list HMB per capsule or serving, while gummy blends may present a combined amount for HMB and leucine.
- Capsule counts vary widely: options range from 90 to 360 capsules, but a larger bottle does not reveal how many capsules make a daily serving.
- The best fit depends on routine: powder allows a different form of use, gummies may suit people who avoid capsules, and single-ingredient capsules may appeal to buyers seeking a simpler formula.
| Andmino HMB and L-Leucine Gummies, 3000 mg, Apple Flavor, 120 Count | ![]() | Best Gummy Option | Active ingredients: HMB and L-leucine | Amount per serving: 3,000 mg combined | Suggested use: Four gummies daily | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| HMB and L-Leucine 3000 mg Gummies with Calcium, 60 Count | ![]() | Best for Added Calcium and Electrolytes | Active ingredients: HMB and L-leucine | Amount per serving: 3,000 mg combined | Form: Gummies | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Nutricost HMB 1500 mg and Vitamin D3 6000 IU Supplement, 240 Capsules | ![]() | Best HMB and Vitamin D3 Combination | HMB per serving: 1,500 mg | Vitamin D3 per serving: 6,000 IU (150 mcg) | Capsules per bottle: 240 | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Optimum Nutrition HMB 1000 mg Capsules, 90 Count | ![]() | Best for a Clearly Stated HMB-Only Serving | Active ingredient: Calcium beta-hydroxy-beta-methylbutyrate monohydrate (HMB) | HMB per capsule: 1,000 mg | HMB per serving: 3,000 mg | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| BulkSupplements HMB Calcium Capsules, 3000 mg per Serving, 360 Count | ![]() | Best for a Large Bottle Supply | Ingredient: Calcium HMB (beta-hydroxy beta-methylbutyrate) | Amount per serving: 3,000 mg | Serving size: 6 capsules | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| HMB Supplements, 3,000 mg per Serving, 240 Capsules | ![]() | Best for a Clearly Stated Full Serving | Active ingredient: Calcium β-Hydroxy β-Methylbutyrate (HMB) | HMB per serving: 3,000 mg | Capsules per serving: 4 | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Micro Ingredients HMB 1,000 mg Softgels with Coconut Oil, 240 Count | ![]() | Best Softgel Format | Serving strength: 1,000 mg calcium HMB | Form: Softgels | Count: 240 softgels | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| HMB and L-Leucine Gummies, 4,500 mg, Sugar-Free Strawberry, 120 Count | ![]() | Best Chewable Alternative | Blend per serving: 4,500 mg HMB and L-leucine | Form: Gummies | Flavor: Strawberry | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| NatureBell HMB 3,000 mg, 300 Capsules | ![]() | Best for a Larger Capsule Supply | Serving strength: 3,000 mg | Quantity: 300 capsules | Key ingredients: HMB and calcium | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Nutricost HMB (Beta-Hydroxy Beta-Methylbutyrate), 1000 mg, 240 Capsules | ![]() | Best for Smaller Stated Servings | Active ingredient: HMB (beta-hydroxy beta-methylbutyrate) | HMB per capsule: 500 mg | HMB per serving: 1,000 mg | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Bucked Up HMB 1500 mg, 180 Capsules | ![]() | Best Mid-Range Capsule Dose | Active ingredient: HMB (beta-hydroxy beta-methylbutyrate) | HMB per serving: 1,500 mg | Servings per bottle: 60 | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| VINATURA HMB 3000 mg with Vitamin D3, 120 Capsules | ![]() | Best HMB-and-Vitamin D Combination | Active ingredients: HMB and vitamin D3 (cholecalciferol) | HMB per serving: 3,000 mg | Vitamin D3 per serving: 1,600 IU (200% Daily Value) | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Nutricost HMB Powder, 250 g | ![]() | Best for Flexible Serving Size | Active ingredient: HMB (beta-hydroxy beta-methylbutyrate) | Serving size: 1,000 mg | Servings per bottle: 250 | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Vemluta HMB and Leucine Gummies, 2-Pack, Apple Flavor, 120 Count | ![]() | Best Gummy Format | Product type: HMB and L-leucine gummies | Pack size: 2 packs | Count: 120 | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Nutricost HMB (Beta-Hydroxy Beta-Methylbutyrate), 1000 mg, 120 Capsules | ![]() | Best for Lower-Amount Capsule Servings | Active ingredient: HMB (beta-hydroxy beta-methylbutyrate) | HMB per capsule: 500 mg | HMB per serving: 1,000 mg | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| hmb supplement for elderly | Dietary attributes |
|---|---|
| Andmino HMB and L-Leucine Gumm | Vegan, gluten-free |
| HMB and L-Leucine 3000 mg Gumm | — |
| Nutricost HMB 1500 mg and Vita | Non-GMO, gluten-free |
| Optimum Nutrition HMB 1000 mg | — |
| BulkSupplements HMB Calcium Ca | — |
| HMB Supplements | Non-GMO; made without gluten, dairy, eggs, peanuts, soy, wheat, and yeast |
| Micro Ingredients HMB 1,000 mg | Non-GMO; made without soy, dairy, or gluten |
| HMB and L-Leucine Gummies | Gluten-free, non-GMO, sugar-free, vegan-friendly |
| NatureBell HMB 3,000 mg | Non-GMO, gluten-free, dairy-free, soy-free, preservative-free, peanut-free |
| Nutricost HMB | GMO-free, gluten-free |
| Bucked Up HMB 1500 mg | Gluten-free, non-GMO |
| VINATURA HMB 3000 mg with Vita | — |
| Nutricost HMB Powder | Non-GMO, gluten-free |
| Vemluta HMB and Leucine Gummie | Gluten-free, gelatin-free |
| Nutricost HMB | Non-GMO, soy-free, gluten-free |
More Details on Our Top Picks
Andmino HMB and L-Leucine Gummies, 3000 mg, Apple Flavor, 120 Count
For an older adult who dislikes swallowing capsules, Andmino’s apple-flavored gummies offer a chewable route to a stated 3,000 mg combined HMB and L-leucine per serving. The vegan, gluten-free formula avoids artificial colors and additives, while pectin provides the gummy structure. Compared with the HMB and L-Leucine 3000 mg Gummies with Calcium, Andmino provides 120 gummies rather than 60, though neither listing gives a separate amount for each active ingredient. The tradeoff is the four-gummy daily serving, which may be inconvenient for someone who prefers one or two pills. Trehalose is also part of the formula, so this is not the pick for someone specifically seeking a sugar-free gummy. I’d choose it for chewability and a clearly stated daily serving, not for a precisely disclosed HMB dose.
Pros:- Chewable format offers an alternative to capsules and tablets
- Vegan and gluten-free
- Made without artificial colors or additives
- 120-gummy bottle provides more units than the 60-count calcium-and-electrolyte gummy option
Cons:- Requires four gummies per daily serving
- The 3,000 mg figure combines HMB and L-leucine without listing each amount separately
- Trehalose may not suit buyers seeking a sugar-free gummy
Best for: Older adults who avoid capsules and want a vegan, apple-flavored chewable supplement with a stated combined serving amount.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need the exact HMB amount separated from leucine, want a sugar-free product, or find four gummies a day difficult.
- Active ingredients:HMB and L-leucine
- Amount per serving:3,000 mg combined
- Suggested use:Four gummies daily
- Flavor:Apple
- Count:120 gummies
- Dietary attributes:Vegan, gluten-free
- Sweetener:Trehalose
- Manufacturing:Made in a GMP-certified facility
Our verdict“Choose Andmino if chewability and a vegan formula matter more than a separately disclosed HMB dose or a low-unit daily serving.”
HMB and L-Leucine 3000 mg Gummies with Calcium, 60 Count
This raspberry gummy is the most ingredient-combined option among the two 3,000 mg chewables here, adding calcium and electrolytes to HMB and L-leucine. That may appeal to an older adult who prefers a single chewable product over separate supplement formats, but the listing does not give the amounts of calcium, electrolytes, HMB, or leucine individually. Compared with Andmino HMB and L-Leucine Gummies, this formula is described as sugar-free and includes extra ingredients, while its 60-count bottle contains half as many gummies. The daily gummy count is not specified in the supplied product details, which makes it harder to judge how long a bottle lasts. I’d favor it for its sugar-free positioning and added ingredients, but not for buyers who want a transparent breakdown of each active dose.
Pros:- Combines HMB and L-leucine in a chewable format
- Includes calcium and electrolytes
- Described as vegan, sugar-free, gluten-free, and soy-free
- Made in a GMP-certified facility
Cons:- Does not disclose the individual amounts of HMB, L-leucine, calcium, or electrolytes
- 60-gummy count is lower than Andmino’s 120-count bottle
- Suggested daily gummy count is not provided in the supplied details
Best for: Older adults who prefer raspberry-flavored, sugar-free gummies and want calcium and electrolytes included alongside HMB and L-leucine.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need clearly stated amounts for each active ingredient or want a larger gummy count than 60.
- Active ingredients:HMB and L-leucine
- Amount per serving:3,000 mg combined
- Form:Gummies
- Count:60 gummies
- Flavor:Raspberry
- Other ingredients:Calcium and electrolytes
- Dietary features:Vegan, sugar-free, gluten-free, soy-free
- Manufacturing:Made in a GMP-certified facility
Our verdict“Pick this gummy if sugar-free positioning and added calcium and electrolytes matter more than dose transparency or bottle size.”
Nutricost HMB 1500 mg and Vitamin D3 6000 IU Supplement, 240 Capsules
Nutricost pairs 1,500 mg of HMB with 6,000 IU of vitamin D3 per serving, making it a distinct choice for older adults who want both ingredients in one capsule-based product. Its 80 servings per bottle mean fewer replenishment cycles than the Optimum Nutrition HMB 1000 mg Capsules, which supplies HMB alone and has 90 capsules. That comparison is not a direct measure of value, though: the supplied details do not state Nutricost’s serving size in capsules, and its HMB amount is lower per serving than products listed at 3,000 mg. The high stated D3 amount also makes this a poor choice for anyone already taking vitamin D unless a clinician has reviewed their total intake. I’d select it for the combined formula, not as a straightforward high-HMB-only option.
Pros:- Combines HMB and vitamin D3 in one product
- Provides 80 servings per bottle
- Non-GMO and gluten-free
- Made in an NSF-certified, GMP-compliant, FDA-registered facility
Cons:- Provides 1,500 mg of HMB per serving, below the 3,000 mg listed for several alternatives
- The stated 6,000 IU of vitamin D3 may not fit someone already taking vitamin D
- Serving size in capsules is not specified in the supplied details
Best for: Older adults seeking a capsule supplement that combines HMB with vitamin D3 and who have checked the D3 amount against their existing routine.
Not ideal for: People who want HMB alone, need 3,000 mg of HMB per serving, or cannot confirm that 6,000 IU of vitamin D3 suits their needs.
- HMB per serving:1,500 mg
- Vitamin D3 per serving:6,000 IU (150 mcg)
- Capsules per bottle:240
- Servings per bottle:80
- Dietary attributes:Non-GMO, gluten-free
- Manufacturing:NSF-certified, GMP-compliant, FDA-registered facility
Our verdict“Choose this formula if you specifically want HMB plus vitamin D3 and have confirmed the added D3 fits your supplement plan.”
Optimum Nutrition HMB 1000 mg Capsules, 90 Count
Optimum Nutrition makes the dose math easy to follow: three 1,000 mg capsules provide 3,000 mg of HMB, with no leucine or vitamin D included in the listed active ingredients. That simplicity distinguishes it from Nutricost HMB 1500 mg and Vitamin D3, which combines ingredients but supplies less HMB per serving. It may suit an older adult who wants a defined HMB-only serving and is comfortable swallowing capsules. The practical drawback is the three-capsule daily serving, and the 90-count bottle contains 30 servings at that use rate. Its product description also frames the supplement as support, with results potentially varying by person; it should not be read as a promise of maintaining strength or muscle. I’d choose it for a straightforward listed dose, while buyers avoiding multiple capsules should look to a chewable option.
Pros:- Lists 1,000 mg of HMB per capsule and 3,000 mg per serving
- HMB-only formula avoids combining the listed active with leucine or vitamin D
- Capsule format avoids gummy sweeteners and flavors
Cons:- Requires three capsules per serving
- A 90-capsule bottle provides 30 servings at the suggested use
- The product description notes that support may vary by individual
Best for: Older adults who want a clearly stated 3,000 mg HMB serving without added leucine or vitamin D and can take three capsules daily.
Not ideal for: People who have difficulty swallowing several capsules, want a gummy, or prefer a formula that also includes vitamin D3.
- Active ingredient:Calcium beta-hydroxy-beta-methylbutyrate monohydrate (HMB)
- HMB per capsule:1,000 mg
- HMB per serving:3,000 mg
- Serving size:3 capsules
- Capsules per bottle:90
- Suggested use:Take 3 capsules daily as a dietary supplement
Our verdict“Pick Optimum Nutrition if you want a plainly specified 3,000 mg HMB-only serving and are comfortable taking three capsules a day.”
BulkSupplements HMB Calcium Capsules, 3000 mg per Serving, 360 Count
BulkSupplements stands out for its 360-capsule bottle and stated 3,000 mg calcium HMB serving, giving it the largest bottle count among these five products. That may suit someone who has settled on a capsule routine and wants fewer bottle changes than with Optimum Nutrition HMB 1000 mg Capsules, but BulkSupplements requires six capsules per serving rather than three. The bottle therefore contains 60 servings at the listed serving size, not 360 daily servings. Its cGMP-compliant manufacturing and third-party testing are useful quality details, though they do not remove the daily pill burden. I’d rank it for supply size and testing information, not convenience. Older adults who have trouble swallowing capsules or managing several pills at once are better served by a lower-capsule option or a gummy.
Pros:- Provides 3,000 mg of calcium HMB per serving
- 360-capsule bottle supplies 60 servings at six capsules per serving
- Third-party tested
- Made in a cGMP-compliant facility and listed as gluten-free
Cons:- Requires six capsules per serving
- The large capsule count can make the daily routine burdensome
- Provides 60 servings rather than 360 servings at the stated serving size
Best for: Older adults who already tolerate capsules, want a large bottle, and are comfortable taking six capsules per serving.
Not ideal for: People with swallowing difficulties, limited pill tolerance, or a preference for a three-capsule serving such as Optimum Nutrition’s.
- Ingredient:Calcium HMB (beta-hydroxy beta-methylbutyrate)
- Amount per serving:3,000 mg
- Serving size:6 capsules
- Count:360 capsules
- Servings per bottle:60
- Gluten status:Gluten-free
- Manufacturing:Made in a cGMP-compliant facility
- Testing:Third-party tested
Our verdict“Choose BulkSupplements for a large bottle and stated third-party testing only if six capsules per serving are manageable.”
HMB Supplements, 3,000 mg per Serving, 240 Capsules
For an older adult whose clinician has recommended a 3,000 mg HMB serving, this product makes the serving strength easy to identify: it provides that amount across four capsules. Its 240-count bottle supplies 60 servings, and third-party lab testing plus a formula made without several common allergens add useful screening details. Compared with Nutricost HMB 1,000 mg, it delivers more HMB per stated serving, but asks the user to take more capsules at once. That can be a real drawback for someone managing a large daily pill routine or having difficulty swallowing capsules. The product description also does not independently substantiate its performance claims, so I would treat those as claims rather than promised outcomes. This is a straightforward pick when serving clarity matters more than minimizing pill count.
Pros:- Provides a clearly stated 3,000 mg HMB per serving
- 240 capsules supply 60 servings
- Third-party lab tested
- Made without several listed common allergens
Cons:- Four capsules are required for one serving
- Muscle and performance benefits are not independently substantiated in the supplied product information
Best for: Older adults with a clinician-recommended 3,000 mg HMB serving who can comfortably take four capsules and want allergen exclusions stated.
Not ideal for: People who struggle with swallowing capsules or already take many pills, since one serving requires four capsules.
- Active ingredient:Calcium β-Hydroxy β-Methylbutyrate (HMB)
- HMB per serving:3,000 mg
- Capsules per serving:4
- Capsules per bottle:240
- Servings per bottle:60
- Testing:Third-party lab tested
- Dietary attributes:Non-GMO; made without gluten, dairy, eggs, peanuts, soy, wheat, and yeast
Our verdict“Choose this if you need a plainly labeled 3,000 mg serving and can manage four capsules at once.”
Micro Ingredients HMB 1,000 mg Softgels with Coconut Oil, 240 Count
Micro Ingredients is the format-led choice here: it offers calcium HMB in softgels with coconut oil, rather than the standard capsules used by products such as NatureBell HMB 3,000 mg. That distinction may suit an older adult who prefers softgels, though the listing does not say how many make up a serving, so it is harder to plan a routine or compare its dose directly with products that specify a capsule count per serving. The 240-softgel pouch and stated third-party ingredient testing are useful points, as are the exclusions of soy, dairy, and gluten. But the 1,000 mg serving strength is lower than the 3,000 mg servings listed for several alternatives, and the muscle and recovery language remains a product claim, not a guaranteed result. Check the serving directions before buying.
Pros:- Softgel format with coconut oil
- 240 softgels per pouch
- Ingredients are third-party lab tested
- Made without soy, dairy, and gluten
Cons:- The supplied product details do not state how many softgels make up a serving
- The stated 1,000 mg serving is below the 3,000 mg servings offered by several alternatives
- Muscle and recovery benefits are product claims rather than guaranteed outcomes
Best for: Older adults who prefer softgels, want a 1,000 mg HMB serving, and are comfortable checking the label for the softgel count per serving.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a clearly specified number of softgels per serving or are seeking a product with a stated 3,000 mg serving.
- Serving strength:1,000 mg calcium HMB
- Form:Softgels
- Count:240 softgels
- Added ingredient:Coconut oil
- Dietary attributes:Non-GMO; made without soy, dairy, or gluten
- Testing:Ingredients are third-party lab tested
Our verdict“Pick this for a softgel preference, but verify the serving directions if dose tracking is a priority.”
HMB and L-Leucine Gummies, 4,500 mg, Sugar-Free Strawberry, 120 Count
These gummies address a practical barrier that capsule products such as HMB Supplements 3,000 mg per Serving do not: they provide a chewable, strawberry-flavored format for adults who dislike swallowing pills. The stated daily direction is two gummies, with 120 gummies described as a 30-day supply. That simplicity may appeal to older adults, but the headline 4,500 mg is a combined HMB and L-leucine blend, not a stated HMB-only amount. Buyers comparing HMB doses with NatureBell HMB 3,000 mg should keep that distinction in view. The product is sugar-free, vegan-friendly, and gluten-free, and batch verification is listed at each production stage. Still, chewability and a larger blend figure do not establish a particular outcome; the described benefits are potential support, not a guarantee.
Pros:- Chewable alternative to capsules and tablets
- Sugar-free, vegan-friendly, and gluten-free
- Strawberry flavor may be easier to take than unflavored capsules
- Batch verification is stated at each production stage
Cons:- The 4,500 mg amount is for an HMB and L-leucine blend, not HMB alone
- The suggested use requires two gummies daily
- The described benefits are potential support rather than guaranteed results
Best for: Older adults who avoid capsules and want a sugar-free, vegan-friendly chewable with a simple two-gummy daily direction.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need to compare a clearly stated HMB-only dose, since the 4,500 mg figure covers HMB and L-leucine together.
- Blend per serving:4,500 mg HMB and L-leucine
- Form:Gummies
- Flavor:Strawberry
- Count:120 gummies
- Suggested use:2 gummies daily
- Supply:30 days
- Dietary attributes:Gluten-free, non-GMO, sugar-free, vegan-friendly
Our verdict“Choose these if swallowing capsules is the main obstacle and you are comfortable with a combined HMB-and-leucine dose.”
NatureBell HMB 3,000 mg, 300 Capsules
NatureBell stands out for combining a stated 3,000 mg serving with a 300-capsule bottle, giving it more capsules than the 240-count HMB Supplements option. That larger count may suit someone who wants to limit how often they replace a bottle, although the supplied details do not state capsules per serving or servings per bottle, so the practical duration is unclear. The formula includes HMB and calcium and is described as third-party tested, with exclusions that include gluten, dairy, soy, preservatives, and peanuts. Compared with Nutricost HMB 1,000 mg, NatureBell lists a higher serving strength, but it also gives less detail about the amount per capsule. Its muscle, recovery, and protein-synthesis language should be read as support claims, not guaranteed outcomes. I would favor it for count and listed exclusions, not for dose transparency.
Pros:- Lists a 3,000 mg serving strength
- 300 capsules per bottle
- Combines HMB with calcium
- Third-party tested and free from several listed allergens and preservatives
Cons:- Capsules per serving and servings per bottle are not specified in the supplied details
- Muscle, recovery, and protein-synthesis benefits are support claims, not guaranteed outcomes
Best for: Older adults seeking a 3,000 mg HMB serving, a 300-capsule bottle, and listed exclusions for several common allergens.
Not ideal for: People who need to know the capsule count per serving or exact servings per bottle before choosing a supplement.
- Serving strength:3,000 mg
- Quantity:300 capsules
- Key ingredients:HMB and calcium
- Testing:Third-party tested
- Dietary attributes:Non-GMO, gluten-free, dairy-free, soy-free, preservative-free, peanut-free
Our verdict“Choose NatureBell for its 300-capsule count and stated 3,000 mg serving, provided you confirm serving directions on the label.”
Nutricost HMB (Beta-Hydroxy Beta-Methylbutyrate), 1000 mg, 240 Capsules
Nutricost takes a more measured serving approach than HMB Supplements 3,000 mg per Serving: each serving provides 1,000 mg from two 500 mg capsules. That breakdown gives buyers a clear capsule-level amount and may be easier to fit into a routine when a clinician has advised a smaller serving. Its 240 capsules provide 120 servings, so the bottle has a clearly stated supply unlike NatureBell, whose supplied details omit servings per bottle. The tradeoff is that someone directed to take a higher amount would need multiple servings, which adds capsules to the daily routine. The product is GMO-free and gluten-free, and it is made in an NSF-certified, GMP-compliant, FDA-registered facility. Those manufacturing details do not establish a specific health outcome, so I would choose it for dose clarity and facility information rather than a promise of muscle support.
Pros:- Each capsule contains a stated 500 mg of HMB
- Two capsules provide a clearly stated 1,000 mg serving
- 240 capsules supply 120 servings
- Made in an NSF-certified, GMP-compliant, FDA-registered facility
Cons:- A higher serving amount requires taking multiple servings and additional capsules
- The supplied product details list no specific outcome evidence or additional dietary exclusions beyond GMO-free and gluten-free
Best for: Older adults who want a clearly stated 1,000 mg serving in two capsules and value disclosed manufacturing-facility standards.
Not ideal for: People seeking a 3,000 mg serving in one stated serving, since reaching that amount would require taking multiple servings.
- Active ingredient:HMB (beta-hydroxy beta-methylbutyrate)
- HMB per capsule:500 mg
- HMB per serving:1,000 mg
- Capsules per bottle:240
- Servings per bottle:120
- Dietary attributes:GMO-free, gluten-free
- Manufacturing:Made in an NSF-certified, GMP-compliant, FDA-registered facility
Our verdict“Choose Nutricost if a clearly portioned 1,000 mg serving and disclosed facility standards matter more than a higher serving strength.”
Bucked Up HMB 1500 mg, 180 Capsules
Bucked Up provides 1,500 mg of HMB per serving, placing it between the 1,000 mg serving from Nutricost HMB Capsules and the 3,000 mg serving from VINATURA HMB with Vitamin D3. That middle ground may suit an older adult who prefers capsules and wants a serving larger than Nutricost’s without choosing a higher-dose formula. The bottle supplies 60 servings, and its gluten-free, non-GMO formulation plus third-party testing offer useful screening details. The tradeoff is that the supplied information does not state how many capsules make up a serving, so buyers should check the label before planning daily use. It also has no listed vitamin D or leucine, unlike some alternatives, and HMB should not be treated as a replacement for individualized medical advice or a balanced diet.
Pros:- Provides 1,500 mg of HMB per serving, between the listed 1,000 mg and 3,000 mg options.
- Bottle contains 60 servings.
- Gluten-free and non-GMO.
- Third-party tested.
Cons:- Capsules per serving are not specified in the supplied product details.
- Does not include vitamin D or leucine.
- Its serving amount may not match buyers seeking a 1,000 mg serving or a 3,000 mg formula.
Best for: Older adults who prefer capsules, want a 1,500 mg HMB serving, and value third-party testing and a clearly stated serving count.
Not ideal for: People seeking a product that includes vitamin D, or buyers who need the capsule count per serving stated clearly before purchase.
- Active ingredient:HMB (beta-hydroxy beta-methylbutyrate)
- HMB per serving:1,500 mg
- Servings per bottle:60
- Capsules per bottle:180
- Dietary attributes:Gluten-free, non-GMO
- Testing:Third-party tested
- Manufacturing:Made in a GMP-compliant, FDA-registered facility
Our verdict“Choose Bucked Up if you want a tested, capsule-based 1,500 mg HMB serving without added ingredients.”
VINATURA HMB 3000 mg with Vitamin D3, 120 Capsules
VINATURA combines 3,000 mg of HMB with 1,600 IU of vitamin D3 in each four-capsule serving, making it the clearest fit here for shoppers who want both ingredients in one product. Compared with Bucked Up HMB, it offers a higher stated HMB amount and adds vitamin D3; the tradeoff is a four-capsule serving rather than a simpler-to-plan dose. The vegan capsules, third-party testing, and NSF Certified for Sport designation add useful product details, though the sport certification does not establish that the supplement is appropriate for every older adult. The description also frames use alongside regular training and consistent daily intake, not as an immediate effect. Buyers who already take vitamin D or need clinician-guided dosing should check their full supplement plan before adding another source.
Pros:- Combines 3,000 mg of HMB with 1,600 IU of vitamin D3 per serving.
- Uses vegan capsules.
- Third-party tested and NSF Certified for Sport.
- Made in the USA.
Cons:- Requires four capsules per serving.
- Includes vitamin D3, which may duplicate an existing supplement routine.
- The description says use is intended alongside regular training and consistent daily intake.
Best for: Older adults who want HMB and vitamin D3 together, can manage four capsules per serving, and value vegan capsules and named testing credentials.
Not ideal for: People who already take vitamin D3 without guidance, have difficulty swallowing several capsules, or want a single-ingredient HMB product.
- Active ingredients:HMB and vitamin D3 (cholecalciferol)
- HMB per serving:3,000 mg
- Vitamin D3 per serving:1,600 IU (200% Daily Value)
- Serving size:4 capsules
- Servings per container:30
- Capsules per container:120
- Capsule type:Vegan
- Testing and certification:Third-party tested; NSF Certified for Sport
- Manufacturing location:USA
Our verdict“Pick VINATURA if you specifically want a higher HMB serving paired with vitamin D3 and are comfortable taking four capsules.”
Nutricost HMB Powder, 250 g
Nutricost’s powder supplies 1,000 mg of HMB per scoop, offering a different kind of convenience from capsule options such as Nutricost HMB 1,000 mg Capsules: it avoids swallowing pills and makes the serving amount easy to measure. The bottle lists 250 servings, a substantial supply for people who are comfortable mixing a powder into their routine. Its non-GMO, gluten-free formulation and NSF-certified, GMP-compliant, FDA-registered manufacturing facility are stated on the product details. The main compromise is format: unlike capsules, powder needs a scoop and a way to take it, and the supplied information does not say how it tastes or mixes. The 1,000 mg serving is also lower than Bucked Up’s 1,500 mg per serving, so shoppers comparing amounts should read each label rather than assume formats are interchangeable.
Pros:- Provides a measured 1,000 mg of HMB per serving.
- Includes 250 servings per bottle.
- Non-GMO and gluten-free.
- Made in an NSF-certified, GMP-compliant, FDA-registered facility.
Cons:- Requires handling and taking powder rather than a ready-made capsule.
- Taste and mixability are not specified in the supplied details.
- Provides less HMB per serving than Bucked Up’s 1,500 mg serving.
Best for: Older adults who prefer avoiding capsules, want a measured 1,000 mg HMB serving, and are comfortable handling powder.
Not ideal for: People who need a portable, ready-to-take format or dislike mixing powders and carrying a scoop.
- Active ingredient:HMB (beta-hydroxy beta-methylbutyrate)
- Serving size:1,000 mg
- Servings per bottle:250
- Net weight:250 g
- Included scoop:1,000 mg
- Dietary attributes:Non-GMO, gluten-free
- Manufacturing facility:NSF-certified, GMP-compliant, FDA-registered
Our verdict“Choose this powder if avoiding capsules matters more to you than having a ready-to-take supplement.”
Vemluta HMB and Leucine Gummies, 2-Pack, Apple Flavor, 120 Count
Vemluta stands apart from capsule and powder choices by pairing HMB with L-leucine in apple-flavored, pectin-based gummies. That format may appeal to older adults who dislike swallowing capsules, while the 3,000 mg of L-leucine per serving distinguishes it from single-ingredient options such as Bucked Up HMB. The listed HMB amount is 1,500 mg of calcium HMB, but the product text also has inconsistent ingredient descriptions; I would verify the current label before relying on that amount. The details identify gluten-free and gelatin-free attributes and say production takes place in GMP-certified facilities. Still, this product’s claims about muscle recovery and performance are not independently substantiated in the supplied information. Serving size and the number of servings are also not given, limiting comparisons with clearly portioned capsule products.
Pros:- Combines HMB and L-leucine in one product.
- Pectin-based and gelatin-free.
- Gluten-free.
- Gummy format may be easier for some people than capsules or powder.
Cons:- Product text gives inconsistent descriptions of the HMB ingredient and amount.
- Serving size and servings per container are not specified in the supplied details.
- Muscle recovery and performance claims are not independently substantiated in the supplied text.
Best for: Older adults who strongly prefer gummies over capsules or powder and want a product listing both HMB and L-leucine.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a clearly verified HMB form and serving amount, or who prefer a simple single-ingredient supplement with transparent serving directions.
- Product type:HMB and L-leucine gummies
- Pack size:2 packs
- Count:120
- Flavor:Apple
- L-leucine per serving:3,000 mg
- Calcium HMB per serving:1,500 mg
- Calcium per serving:140 mg
- Gummy base:Pectin
- Dietary attributes:Gluten-free, gelatin-free
Our verdict“Consider Vemluta only if gummies are your preferred format and you can confirm the HMB details on the current label.”
Nutricost HMB (Beta-Hydroxy Beta-Methylbutyrate), 1000 mg, 120 Capsules
Nutricost offers 1,000 mg of HMB per serving, with 500 mg in each capsule, so buyers can see how the serving is divided across two capsules. Compared with the 1,500 mg serving from Bucked Up HMB, this is a lower stated amount; compared with Nutricost HMB Powder, it trades mixing for a ready-to-take format. The product is non-GMO, soy-free, and gluten-free, and the listed manufacturing facility is NSF-certified, GMP-compliant, and FDA-registered. Its straightforward, single-ingredient profile may suit shoppers avoiding added vitamin D or leucine. A drawback for older adults with swallowing difficulty is that a 1,000 mg serving means taking more than one capsule, and the supplied details do not state servings per bottle. It also lacks the third-party testing claim listed for Bucked Up.
Pros:- Provides 500 mg of HMB per capsule and 1,000 mg per serving.
- Non-GMO, soy-free, and gluten-free.
- Made in an NSF-certified, GMP-compliant, FDA-registered facility.
- Single-ingredient formula without listed added vitamin D or leucine.
Cons:- A 1,000 mg serving requires multiple capsules.
- Servings per bottle are not specified in the supplied details.
- Third-party testing is not listed, unlike Bucked Up HMB.
Best for: Older adults who want a straightforward HMB capsule, prefer 500 mg capsules, and avoid soy, gluten, or genetically modified ingredients.
Not ideal for: People who have difficulty swallowing multiple capsules, want a higher stated HMB serving, or need a stated servings-per-bottle count.
- Active ingredient:HMB (beta-hydroxy beta-methylbutyrate)
- HMB per capsule:500 mg
- HMB per serving:1,000 mg
- Capsules per bottle:120
- Dietary attributes:Non-GMO, soy-free, gluten-free
- Manufacturing:NSF-certified, GMP-compliant, FDA-registered facility
Our verdict“Choose Nutricost’s capsules if you want a simple 1,000 mg HMB serving and are comfortable taking multiple capsules.”

How We Picked
I compared the 15 listed products using details available in their names and stated formats: HMB amount, whether the amount is presented per capsule or serving, added ingredients, dosage form, and package count. I gave extra weight to label clarity and routine fit for older adults, since swallowing difficulty, multiple supplements, and the need to check overlapping nutrients can shape a practical choice. I did not treat a larger stated number as proof of greater benefit, and I did not infer ingredient amounts that were not specified.
The ranking favors options with a clear use case and a manageable tradeoff, rather than implying that any one supplement is medically appropriate for everyone. Mixed formulas rank well only when their added ingredients have a clear role for the buyer; otherwise, a simpler product may be easier to review with a healthcare professional. Because the supplied product details do not establish testing quality, clinical benefit, or individual suitability, readers should verify the full label and ask a clinician or pharmacist before adding HMB, especially when managing health conditions or taking medication.
Factors to Consider When Choosing Hmb Supplement For Elderly
Choosing HMB for an older adult is not just a question of picking the largest number on the front label. I would start with the person’s daily routine, existing supplements, swallowing comfort, and the reason they are considering HMB, then use the label to narrow the options.
Check the HMB amount and serving definition
Look for the amount of HMB in a full serving, then check how many capsules, gummies, or scoops make that serving. A product listing a number per capsule can look lower than one listing a total per serving, even when the daily directions change the comparison. Gummies that combine HMB and leucine need particular care: a combined headline amount is not necessarily the amount of HMB alone. Avoid comparing products by front-label numbers until you know what the number measures. Ask a clinician what amount, if any, fits the person’s circumstances rather than using another product’s serving as a target. Keep the serving directions with the supplement list so a caregiver can follow them accurately.
Choose a format the person can use consistently
Capsules may suit someone who already takes pills comfortably, but a serving can involve more than one capsule. Softgels, gummies, and powder offer alternatives, each with its own routine: gummies require chewing, and powder needs measuring and mixing. Check texture, flavor, serving size, and directions rather than assuming a non-capsule form is automatically easier. For someone with swallowing difficulty, ask a pharmacist before opening capsules or altering a dosage form, since handling guidance can differ by product. A format that fits breakfast or another established routine may be easier to manage than one that adds preparation. The practical choice is the form the user can take as directed, not the one with the most appealing label.
Review added nutrients against the full supplement list
Combination products in this roundup add ingredients such as vitamin D3, leucine, or calcium, which can make a formula less convenient if the person already gets those nutrients elsewhere. Add up amounts from multivitamins, prescriptions, fortified foods, and standalone supplements before adding another source. The number on the front label may not tell the whole story; read the complete ingredient panel and serving directions. Vitamin D3 products deserve special attention when someone already takes vitamin D or has been advised to monitor it. A pharmacist or clinician can help spot duplication and check whether an added ingredient suits the person’s care plan. If there is no reason to add another ingredient, a simpler formula may be easier to track.
Treat HMB as a supplement, not a substitute for care
Interest in HMB often comes alongside concerns about strength, mobility, appetite, or recovery, but a supplement should not replace evaluation of a new or worsening problem. Older adults may have medical conditions, medication schedules, or nutrition needs that affect whether a product makes sense. Bring the exact product label to a clinician or pharmacist, especially before use alongside regular medication or several supplements. Ask what outcome to monitor and when to stop or seek advice if a problem develops. Do not assume that the same product or amount is suitable for everyone in the household. Guidance from a health professional can help put HMB alongside nutrition, activity, and any prescribed care.
Compare bottle count with the actual daily routine
A larger capsule count can look convenient, but it does not tell you how long a bottle lasts without knowing capsules per serving and servings per day. Check the directions and calculate the number of days from the actual use pattern, not the package count alone. A smaller bottle can be more practical when someone is trying a format for the first time or wants to avoid storing a supplement that may not suit them. Powder also has different handling needs, including measuring and keeping the container stored according to its label. For caregiver-supported routines, clear directions and easy-to-track serving units can matter more than a high count. Keep the product’s original label available so the serving details are not lost.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can an older adult take an HMB product that also contains vitamin D3?
Possibly, but the added vitamin D3 should be checked against the person’s existing supplements, diet, and medical advice. This lineup includes products that list vitamin D3, and the stated amount can be easy to overlook when someone already uses a multivitamin or a separate D3 product. Ask a clinician or pharmacist to review the complete label and current supplement list before starting. Do not assume that an added nutrient is useful just because it appears in a combination formula. If the person has been told to monitor vitamin D intake or levels, follow that guidance.
Are HMB and leucine gummies equivalent to an HMB-only capsule?
No direct equivalence can be assumed from the product names alone. A gummy listing HMB and leucine may state a combined amount, so check how much HMB it provides separately and how many gummies make a serving. An HMB-only capsule has a different formula and may have different serving directions. Gummies also bring texture, chewing, flavor, and any other listed ingredients into the decision. Compare the full labels, then ask a healthcare professional which formula fits the person’s needs.
What should I check if capsules are difficult for the person to swallow?
Look at the serving size and capsule dimensions if the label provides them, and compare those details with softgels, gummies, or powder. Gummies still require chewing, while powder involves measuring and mixing, so neither format suits every person. Do not crush, open, or mix a capsule unless a pharmacist confirms that the specific product can be handled that way. A swallowing difficulty can have medical causes, so a clinician should be told if it is new, worsening, or affecting other pills and food. The safest choice is a format the person can use as directed.
How do I compare a 1,000 mg capsule with a product listing 3,000 mg per serving?
First identify whether each figure refers to one capsule, a full serving, or a blend of ingredients. Then check the number of capsules or gummies in that serving and whether the listed amount is HMB alone. A 3,000 mg serving may require several units, while a product with a lower per-capsule amount may also use multiple capsules. Product names alone do not provide enough information to compare daily use or suitability. Use the full Supplement Facts panel and serving directions, and seek professional guidance rather than choosing by the largest number.
Should I buy a large bottle before finding out whether the format suits the user?
Usually, it is sensible to confirm that the person can take the product comfortably and that the formula fits their care plan before choosing a high-count bottle. This roundup includes capsule options with counts ranging from 90 to 360, but count alone does not show servings per bottle. Check the full directions and consider whether the person is comfortable with the form, taste, and routine. A smaller package may reduce the chance of being left with an unused product if swallowing or preparation is a problem. A clinician or pharmacist can review the formula before the first purchase.
Conclusion
My best overall pick is Nutricost HMB 1500 mg with Vitamin D3 for buyers who want HMB paired with a listed added nutrient and are prepared to check for overlap. For best value by format flexibility, Nutricost HMB Powder is a sensible option for someone comfortable measuring and mixing; confirm its serving directions before comparing it with capsules. Best for beginners is Optimum Nutrition HMB 1000 mg Capsules, a straightforward HMB-only starting point by formula, though the buyer should still review the full label and serving size. For best premium-style combination needs, the HMB and leucine gummy options stand apart from single-ingredient capsules, but check the separate HMB amount and added ingredients. If swallowing capsules is difficult, compare gummies or powder based on chewing, measuring, and preparation comfort rather than assuming one will be easier. Before starting any option, I recommend having a clinician or pharmacist review the label alongside current medications and supplements.


















