For a portable power station for home outages, I’d start with the Anker SOLIX C1000 for a balanced mix of capacity and output, then compare the BLUETTI AC180 for LiFePO4 storage or the Anker SOLIX S2000 for more capacity. Smaller units such as the Jackery Explorer 300 make more sense for phones, routers, and lights than for running several household appliances. The main tradeoff is between runtime and portability: more watt-hours can support more devices for longer, but usually mean a larger unit to store and move. Output limits matter just as much, since a station may have enough stored energy but still be unable to start a high-draw appliance. Read on for how all 15 options compare and which one best fits your outage plan.
Turn the school run and nap time into listening time
- Thousands of audiobooks, podcasts and originals
- Listen on your phone, tablet or Echo — also offline
- Cancel anytime
Complete the kit
Key Takeaways
- The 1,000Wh-class models are the most balanced group for home backup: the Anker SOLIX C1000, BLUETTI AC180, BLUETTI Elite 100 V2, GEYOTO N1000, and Jackery Explorer 1000 v2 offer a middle ground between compact units and the larger Anker SOLIX S2000 or UDPOWER S2400.
- Capacity and output solve different problems: a station’s watt-hours shape how long it can run devices, while its watt rating limits which devices it can power at once and whether it can handle startup surges.
- Compact models are better for essential electronics than whole-room backup: the MARBERO M82, Akiisolo GO10Y, Westinghouse iGen400s, ALLWEI 300W, Jackery Explorer 300, and Anker SOLIX C300 suit smaller loads but have less stored energy than the larger options.
- Battery chemistry is a meaningful comparison point: LiFePO4 is specified for the ALLWEI 300W, Akiisolo GO10Y, and BLUETTI AC180, while the provided details do not identify chemistry for every model.
- Solar bundles and large capacity address different priorities: the UDPOWER S2400 includes a 210W solar panel, while the Anker SOLIX S2000 is listed at 2,010Wh; buyers should compare panel compatibility and expected recharge conditions, not capacity alone.
| UDPOWER S1200 Portable Power Station, 1200W | ![]() | Best for Fast-Switching Home Backup | Running output: 1200W | Surge output: 1800W | Battery: LiFePO4, rated for over 4,000 cycles | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| ALLWEI 300W Portable Power Station, 256Wh LiFePO4 Battery | ![]() | Best Value for Essential Devices | Battery capacity: 256Wh | Battery type: LiFePO4 | Continuous output: 300W | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Westinghouse iGen400s Portable Power Station, 400W Peak, 183Wh | ![]() | Best for Lightweight Grab-and-Go Backup | Battery capacity: 183Wh | Running output: 200W | Peak output: 400W | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Anker SOLIX S2000 Portable Power Station, 2,010 Wh, 1,500 W | ![]() | Best for Longer Home Outages | Battery capacity: 2,010Wh | Battery type: LiFePO4 | Continuous output: 1,500W | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Akiisolo GO10Y Portable Power Station, 192Wh LiFePO4 Battery, 100W Output | ![]() | Best Ultra-Compact Personal Backup | Battery capacity: 192Wh | Battery type: LiFePO4 | Surge output: 200W | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Jackery Explorer 300 Portable Power Station, 292Wh | ![]() | Best Compact Pick | Capacity: 292Wh | Battery chemistry: LiFePO4 | Peak surge: 600W | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| MARBERO M82 Portable Power Station, 88Wh, 120W Surge | ![]() | Best for Emergency Light and Phone Backup | Capacity: 88Wh | Output wattage: 80W | Surge wattage: 120W | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| 500W Portable Power Station, 519.48Wh | ![]() | Best Mid-Capacity Multi-Port Pick | Capacity: 519.48Wh | AC output: 500W pure sine wave | AC outlets: 2, 110V | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| GEYOTO N1000 Portable Power Station, 1024Wh, 1800W | ![]() | Best for Fast-Charging Home Backup | Battery capacity: 1,024Wh | Battery type: LiFePO4 | Surge output: 3,000W | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Anker SOLIX C1000 Portable Power Station, 1,056Wh | ![]() | Best Premium Pick | Battery capacity: 1,056Wh | Battery type: LiFePO4 | Running output: 1,800W | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Anker SOLIX C300 Portable Power Station, 288Wh | ![]() | Best Compact Pick | Battery capacity: 288Wh | Battery type: LiFePO4 | Running output: 300W | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| UDPOWER S2400 Portable Power Station with 210W Solar Panel | ![]() | Best for High-Demand Backup | Battery capacity: 2083Wh | Battery type: LiFePO4 | Peak output: 3000W | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| BLUETTI AC180 Portable Power Station, 1152Wh LiFePO4 Battery | ![]() | Best for Balanced Home Backup | Battery capacity: 1152Wh | Battery type: LiFePO4 | Running output: 1800W | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| BLUETTI Elite 100 V2 Portable Power Station, 1024Wh, 1800W | ![]() | Best for Fast UPS Backup | Battery capacity: 1024Wh | Battery type: LiFePO₄ | AC output: 1800W | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Jackery Explorer 1000 v2 Portable Power Station, 1070Wh, 1500W | ![]() | Best Lightweight 1kWh Pick | Battery capacity: 1070Wh | Battery type: LFP | Output wattage: 1500W | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| portable power station for home outage | Weight | Battery capacity | Battery type |
|---|---|---|---|
| UDPOWER S1200 Portable Power S | 25.8 lb | — | — |
| ALLWEI 300W Portable Power Sta | 6.4 lb | 256Wh | LiFePO4 |
| Westinghouse iGen400s Portable | 5 lb | 183Wh | — |
| Anker SOLIX S2000 Portable Pow | 35.7 lb | 2,010Wh | LiFePO4 |
| Akiisolo GO10Y Portable Power | 3.9 lb | 192Wh | LiFePO4 |
| Jackery Explorer 300 Portable | 7.1 pounds | — | — |
| MARBERO M82 Portable Power Sta | 3.2 pounds | — | — |
| 500W Portable Power Station | 18 pounds | — | — |
| GEYOTO N1000 Portable Power St | 25.6 pounds | 1,024Wh | LiFePO4 |
| Anker SOLIX C1000 Portable Pow | — | 1,056Wh | LiFePO4 |
| Anker SOLIX C300 Portable Powe | 4.13 kg | 288Wh | LiFePO4 |
| UDPOWER S2400 Portable Power S | 41 lbs | 2083Wh | LiFePO4 |
| BLUETTI AC180 Portable Power S | 37.4 pounds | 1152Wh | LiFePO4 |
| BLUETTI Elite 100 V2 Portable | 25 lbs | 1024Wh | LiFePO₄ |
| Jackery Explorer 1000 v2 Porta | 23.8 lbs | 1070Wh | LFP |
More Details on Our Top Picks
UDPOWER S1200 Portable Power Station, 1200W
The UDPOWER S1200 is the strongest fit here for someone who wants a backup source to take over quickly when household power drops. Its UPS switching under 0.01 seconds is designed for short interruptions to compatible electronics, while five AC outlets let you connect several devices without relying on a power strip. At 1,200W running output, it can handle more than the compact ALLWEI 300W, though its capacity in watt-hours is not provided here, so I can’t compare expected runtime directly. That missing figure matters for outage planning: output capacity alone does not tell you how long appliances will run. The tradeoff is a 25.8 lb body and solar input capped at 400W, making this less convenient to move or replenish than smaller options. I’d choose it for rapid backup and outlet count, not as a proven long-duration solution.
Pros:- UPS switch time under 0.01 seconds suits compatible devices that need fast backup handoff.
- Five AC outlets support several household devices at once.
- Two 100W USB-C outputs can charge higher-draw phones, tablets, and laptops.
- LiFePO4 battery is rated for over 4,000 cycles.
Cons:- Battery capacity in watt-hours is not listed, limiting runtime comparisons for outage planning.
- At 25.8 lb, it is less convenient to move than the 6.4 lb ALLWEI 300W.
- Maximum solar input is 400W, which can limit solar replenishment.
Best for: Households prioritizing rapid UPS-style switching for compatible electronics and needing several AC outlets in one station.
Not ideal for: Buyers planning all-day appliance backup who need a stated battery capacity and runtime estimate, or anyone who wants a very lightweight station.
- Running output:1200W
- Surge output:1800W
- Battery:LiFePO4, rated for over 4,000 cycles
- AC outlets:5
- USB-C output:2 × 100W
- Maximum solar input:400W
- UPS switch time:Under 0.01 seconds
- Weight:25.8 lb
Our verdict“Choose the UDPOWER S1200 for fast UPS switching and multiple AC connections, but not when you need a clearly specified long-duration battery.”
ALLWEI 300W Portable Power Station, 256Wh LiFePO4 Battery
For an outage kit built around phones, a laptop, lights, and other modest loads, the ALLWEI 300W offers a practical balance of capacity and portability. Its 256Wh LiFePO4 battery gives it more stored energy than the 183Wh Westinghouse iGen400s, and its 300W continuous output accommodates small appliances that stay within that limit. Four recharge methods, including AC and solar together, add flexibility if an outage lasts beyond the initial charge. It is still a small backup, not a substitute for a larger station such as the Anker SOLIX S2000: a single AC outlet and 300W ceiling restrict how many household appliances it can serve. Solar panels are also sold separately. I’d rank it as the most balanced compact choice for essential electronics, rather than for refrigerators or high-wattage equipment.
Pros:- 256Wh LiFePO4 capacity exceeds the Westinghouse iGen400s’s 183Wh.
- Four recharging methods include AC, car, solar, and AC-plus-solar charging.
- Six output ports support several small devices at once.
- At 6.4 lb, it is far easier to carry than the Anker SOLIX S2000.
Cons:- 300W continuous output rules out many high-draw household appliances.
- One AC outlet limits simultaneous AC-powered devices.
- Solar panel is sold separately.
Best for: Apartment residents or emergency-kit planners who want to keep phones, a laptop, lights, and a small appliance running without carrying a heavy station.
Not ideal for: Households seeking refrigerator backup, multiple AC-powered appliances, or extended runtimes from a single charge.
- Battery capacity:256Wh
- Battery type:LiFePO4
- Continuous output:300W
- Peak output:600W
- Output ports:1 AC, 2 DC5521, 1 car port, 1 USB-A, 1 USB-C PD
- Recharging methods:AC, 12V car, solar, AC + solar
- Weight:6.4 lb
- AC charging time:3.5–4 hours
Our verdict“Pick the ALLWEI 300W for portable backup of essential electronics and small loads, not for powering major appliances.”
Westinghouse iGen400s Portable Power Station, 400W Peak, 183Wh
The Westinghouse iGen400s puts portability ahead of outage duration. At just 5 lb, it is easier to keep near a desk or carry between rooms than the ALLWEI 300W, while two AC outlets and a broad mix of USB ports make it useful for phones, laptops, and a few low-draw devices. Its 200W running output and 183Wh battery set a much lower ceiling than the UDPOWER S1200, so I would not choose it to run demanding appliances or cover a long interruption. The built-in flashlight and quiet, fume-free operation suit indoor emergency use, but the charging setup has a notable catch: the AC adapter and solar panel are not included. This is a compact personal backup option, not a home-outage station for powering several substantial loads.
Pros:- At 5 lb, it is the lightest option in this five-product group.
- Two AC outlets and multiple USB ports allow several small devices to connect.
- Quiet, fume-free operation is suitable for indoor use.
- Three-mode flashlight adds a practical emergency-lighting function.
Cons:- 183Wh capacity and 200W running output limit runtime and appliance choices.
- AC power adapter is not included.
- Solar panel is not included, adding a separate item for solar charging.
Best for: People who want a light, easy-to-store backup for phones, laptops, and small electronics during brief outages.
Not ideal for: Households needing extended runtime, high-wattage appliance support, or a ready-to-use AC charging setup without separately sourcing an adapter.
- Battery capacity:183Wh
- Running output:200W
- Peak output:400W
- AC outlets:2
- USB-C ports:4: three 30W ports and one 100W port
- USB-A ports:2
- Weight:5 lb
- Warranty:2-year limited warranty
Our verdict“Choose the iGen400s when carrying convenience and basic device backup matter more than capacity or appliance power.”
Anker SOLIX S2000 Portable Power Station, 2,010 Wh, 1,500 W
The Anker SOLIX S2000 is the most capable option in this group for households that need more stored energy, not just a place to charge phones. Its 2,010Wh LiFePO4 battery and 1,500W continuous output give it a much broader backup role than the ALLWEI 300W or Westinghouse iGen400s, while eight outlets reduce the need to rotate devices between ports. An under-10ms UPS switchover adds support for compatible electronics, though it is not as fast as the UDPOWER S1200’s stated under-0.01-second switch time. The S2000 weighs 35.7 lb, so its capacity comes with a meaningful lifting burden. It also lacks a 12V DC port, which limits direct connection for some DC-powered gear. Runtime varies by appliance, so I’d treat the stated “up to 35 hours” as a best-case figure rather than a household-wide promise.
Pros:- 2,010Wh battery provides far more stored energy than the compact ALLWEI 300W.
- 1,500W continuous and 3,000W peak output support a wider range of loads.
- Eight outlets help connect several devices without frequent swapping.
- UPS switchover is under 10ms, with up to 400W solar input.
Cons:- At 35.7 lb, it is less convenient to move than the smaller stations.
- No 12V DC port for devices that need direct DC power.
- Actual runtime varies with appliance load and conditions.
Best for: Households seeking substantial battery capacity for multiple moderate loads and willing to lift a 35.7 lb station.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a lightweight unit, direct 12V DC output, or guaranteed runtime for a specific appliance without checking its draw.
- Battery capacity:2,010Wh
- Battery type:LiFePO4
- Continuous output:1,500W
- Peak output:3,000W
- Outlets:8
- Solar input:Up to 400W
- UPS switchover:Under 10ms
- Weight:35.7 lb
Our verdict“Choose the SOLIX S2000 when outage coverage and capacity matter more than easy carrying or 12V DC connectivity.”
Akiisolo GO10Y Portable Power Station, 192Wh LiFePO4 Battery, 100W Output
The Akiisolo GO10Y is built for a narrow but useful job: keeping personal electronics and small devices available when the power goes out. At 3.9 lb, it is lighter and smaller than the Westinghouse iGen400s, and its two USB-C ports, two USB-A ports, and two DC ports make it more flexible for charging several low-draw devices. Its 192Wh battery is slightly larger than the iGen400s’s 183Wh, but the GO10Y’s 100W rated output is a stricter limit; the 200W surge rating does not make it suitable for sustained loads above 100W. UPS functionality and an SOS light add emergency utility, yet this is not a substitute for the ALLWEI 300W when small appliances are part of the plan. The one-year warranty is also shorter than the five-year terms listed for the ALLWEI and UDPOWER.
Pros:- 3.9 lb weight makes it the easiest station here to carry.
- Two USB-C, two USB-A, and two DC ports offer flexible charging for small devices.
- LiFePO4 battery is rated for over 3,000 cycles.
- UPS functionality and SOS LED light add backup and emergency-use features.
Cons:- 100W rated output excludes many household appliances and higher-draw electronics.
- Only one AC outlet limits simultaneous AC connections.
- One-year warranty is shorter than the five-year warranties listed for the ALLWEI 300W and UDPOWER S1200.
Best for: Solo users who want a very light backup for phones, tablets, low-power USB-C devices, and emergency lighting.
Not ideal for: Families or appliance owners who need more than 100W of sustained output, multiple AC outlets, or a longer listed warranty.
- Battery capacity:192Wh
- Battery type:LiFePO4
- Surge output:200W
- Ports:1 AC, 2 USB-C, 2 USB-A, 2 DC
- Battery cycle life:Over 3,000 cycles
- Weight:3.9 lb
- Warranty:1 year
Our verdict“Pick the GO10Y for lightweight backup of personal electronics, but choose the ALLWEI 300W if you need more sustained output.”
Jackery Explorer 300 Portable Power Station, 292Wh
The Jackery Explorer 300 is better suited to keeping phones, a router, lights, and other small essentials running than to powering household appliances. Its 292Wh capacity and 300W rated output make it more capable than the tiny MARBERO M82, while its 7.1-pound weight is easier to manage than the 18-pound 500W Portable Power Station. Multiple port types let a household charge several small devices at once, and the 100W USB-C PD port is useful for compatible laptops. The LiFePO4 battery is listed for over 4,000 charge cycles. The tradeoff is limited AC output: high-draw appliances are out, and the compatible solar panel is sold separately. I’d choose it for portable, modest backup—not as a substitute for a larger outage station.
Pros:- Light 7.1-pound design with an integrated handle is easy to move.
- 100W USB-C PD plus USB-A, AC, and car outputs supports a mix of small devices.
- LiFePO4 battery is rated for over 4,000 charge cycles.
- Compatible solar charging offers an off-grid recharge option.
Cons:- 300W rated output rules out many common household appliances.
- Solar panel is sold separately.
- 292Wh capacity is suited to short-duration essentials rather than extended household backup.
Best for: People who need a lightweight backup for phones, a laptop, a router, and LED lights, and expect to carry the station between rooms or outdoors.
Not ideal for: Households seeking to run refrigerators, kettles, or several AC appliances; its 300W rated output is too limited for many higher-draw devices.
- Capacity:292Wh
- Battery chemistry:LiFePO4
- Peak surge:600W
- Weight:7.1 pounds
- AC outlets:2
- USB-C:100W PD
- Solar charging:About 80% in 2.8 hours with a compatible 100W panel
Our verdict“Choose the Explorer 300 for portable backup of small electronics and lights, but pick a higher-output station for household appliances.”
MARBERO M82 Portable Power Station, 88Wh, 120W Surge
The MARBERO M82 is the smallest, most limited option here, so I’d treat it as a backup for phones, small electronics, and emergency lighting—not a household power source. At 3.2 pounds, it is easier to stash and carry than the Jackery Explorer 300, but its 88Wh capacity and 80W output also run out of headroom much sooner. Eight ports provide flexibility for its size, and the built-in LED has three brightness levels plus an SOS mode, a useful feature during a blackout. It can recharge from AC, a battery, or compatible solar panels, though no panel is listed as included. The key compromise is capability: even modest appliances may exceed its output. I’d pick it as a compact lights-and-devices backup, not as the main station for an outage.
Pros:- At 3.2 pounds, it is simple to store and carry.
- Eight output ports offer several connection options for small devices.
- Built-in LED includes multiple brightness levels and an SOS mode.
- Supports charging from AC, a battery, or compatible solar panels.
Cons:- 80W output excludes most appliances and many higher-power electronics.
- 88Wh capacity offers much less backup time than the Jackery Explorer 300.
- Compatible solar panels are not listed as included.
Best for: Apartment dwellers or travelers who want a lightweight emergency light and a few phone charges, with minimal storage space available.
Not ideal for: Families needing to keep a router, larger electronics, or any household appliance running for a meaningful stretch; capacity and output are both very limited.
- Capacity:88Wh
- Output wattage:80W
- Surge wattage:120W
- Output ports:8
- Weight:3.2 pounds
- Dimensions:6.5 × 4.6 × 3.1 inches
- Charging options:AC, battery, or compatible 30W or 60W solar panel
- LED light:Three brightness levels and SOS flashing mode
Our verdict“Choose the M82 for emergency lighting and small-device charging in a compact package, not for powering home essentials beyond those basics.”
500W Portable Power Station, 519.48Wh
With 519.48Wh of capacity and 500W of pure sine wave AC output, this station offers a practical step up from the Jackery Explorer 300 for households that need to run more than phones and lights. Its two AC outlets and varied USB, DC, car, and wireless outputs can support several small devices at once, while pure sine wave AC is suited to compatible sensitive electronics. The 18-pound weight is still movable, though it is far less convenient to carry than the Jackery. Its central limitation is the 500W output ceiling: capacity does not make it suitable for high-draw appliances, and the listed one-hour runtime should not be read as a general estimate for every device. Wall charging takes 6–7 hours, and solar panels are separate.
Pros:- 519.48Wh capacity is substantially greater than the Jackery Explorer 300’s 292Wh.
- Pure sine wave AC output supports compatible sensitive electronics.
- Ten output ports provide a range of ways to connect devices.
- Can recharge from a wall outlet, car charger, or compatible solar panel.
Cons:- 500W maximum output excludes many high-draw household appliances.
- At 18 pounds, it is less convenient to move than compact options.
- Solar panel is not included, and leaving AC output on can drain the battery.
Best for: Households wanting a moderate-capacity station for compatible electronics, lights, and other devices rated below 500W, with several ports available.
Not ideal for: Buyers planning to power high-wattage appliances or looking for a lightweight station to carry frequently; it weighs 18 pounds and remains capped at 500W.
- Capacity:519.48Wh
- AC output:500W pure sine wave
- AC outlets:2, 110V
- Total output ports:10
- USB-C:1 port, up to 60W PD
- Weight:18 pounds
- Wall recharge time:6–7 hours
- Solar recharge time:6–9 hours with a compatible 100W panel in full sun
Our verdict“Choose this model for more stored energy and port variety than a compact station, provided your essential devices stay within its 500W output limit.”
GEYOTO N1000 Portable Power Station, 1024Wh, 1800W
The GEYOTO N1000 brings a much larger power envelope than the 500W Portable Power Station: its 1,800W rated output and 3,000W surge can support a broader range of compatible home devices, while its 1,024Wh LiFePO4 battery provides more stored energy. A stated charge to 80% in 43 minutes can be useful when outage warnings are short, and the under-10ms UPS switch is aimed at keeping connected equipment from losing power during an interruption. App control, wireless charging, and 18 outlets add convenience, though outlet count alone does not increase available energy. At 25.6 pounds, it is heavier than the Anker SOLIX C1000, and the supplied data does not specify solar charging details or included accessories. I’d favor it for fast replenishment and UPS use, while checking solar needs and load plans before buying.
Pros:- 1,024Wh LiFePO4 battery is rated for up to 4,000 charge cycles.
- 1,800W rated output and 3,000W surge support a wider range of loads than the 500W station.
- Charges to 80% in a stated 43 minutes.
- Under-10ms UPS switching and 18 outlets suit connected home equipment.
Cons:- At 25.6 pounds, it is heavier than the Anker SOLIX C1000.
- Solar charging specifications are not provided.
- Included accessories are not specified.
Best for: Home users who want a roughly 1kWh backup station with fast AC charging and UPS support for compatible connected equipment.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need documented solar input details, a specified accessory bundle, or a particularly light station; those details are not provided and the unit weighs 25.6 pounds.
- Battery capacity:1,024Wh
- Battery type:LiFePO4
- Surge output:3,000W
- Recharge time:0% to 80% in 43 minutes
- Total outlets:18
- UPS switch time:Under 10ms
- Weight:25.6 pounds
Our verdict“Choose the N1000 for fast AC recharging, UPS support, and substantial output, but look elsewhere if documented solar capability or lower carry weight matters most.”
Anker SOLIX C1000 Portable Power Station, 1,056Wh
The Anker SOLIX C1000 combines a 1,056Wh LiFePO4 battery with 1,800W running output, making it a better fit for varied household essentials than the 500W Portable Power Station. Its 2,400W surge rating is lower than the GEYOTO N1000’s 3,000W, but Anker specifies both fast AC and solar recharging: the listed figures are 80% in 43 minutes from AC and a full solar charge in 1.8 hours with suitable input. Eleven ports and app-based charging controls and power statistics help with managing connected devices. The battery is rated for 3,000 cycles, fewer than the GEYOTO’s stated 4,000, and UltraFast AC charging requires the app and a smartphone. Its stated operating range of 68–122°F may also limit use in colder conditions.
Pros:- 1,800W running output suits a wider range of compatible home devices than the 500W station.
- Fast AC charging and up to 600W solar input support rapid replenishment.
- Eleven output ports and app power statistics help manage multiple devices.
- LiFePO4 battery is rated for 3,000 cycles and up to 10 years of lifespan.
Cons:- Its 2,400W surge rating is below the GEYOTO N1000’s 3,000W.
- UltraFast AC charging requires the Anker app and a smartphone.
- Listed operating temperature range is limited to 68–122°F.
Best for: Households seeking a roughly 1kWh station with high running output, fast documented recharging, and app-based charge and power monitoring.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need the highest listed surge capacity, do not want to use a smartphone for UltraFast charging, or expect to operate the station below 68°F.
- Battery capacity:1,056Wh
- Battery type:LiFePO4
- Running output:1,800W
- Surge output:2,400W
- Output ports:11
- Battery cycles:3,000
- AC recharge:80% in 43 minutes; full charge in under an hour
- Solar input:Up to 600W; full charge in 1.8 hours
Our verdict“Choose the C1000 for high output and fast, clearly specified AC or solar recharging, but skip it if app-dependent fast charging or cold-weather operation is a concern.”
Anker SOLIX C300 Portable Power Station, 288Wh
The Anker SOLIX C300 is best for keeping communications and small essentials running, not for carrying a household through a long outage. Its 288Wh LiFePO4 battery and 300W output suit phones, routers, lights, and other modest loads; eight outlets make it easier to share power among several devices. At 4.13 kg and 25 dB, it is much easier to move and keep near a sleeping area than the BLUETTI AC180, but its capacity and output are a fraction of that larger backup option. Wall charging reaches 80% in 50 minutes, and solar, car, and USB-C charging add flexibility. The tradeoff is clear: this is a compact essentials station, and you must supply your own solar panel and shoulder strap.
Pros:- Lightweight 4.13 kg design is easy to move between rooms
- Eight outlets, including two 140W USB-C ports, support varied small devices
- LiFePO4 battery is rated for 3,000 cycles
- Wall charging reaches 80% in 50 minutes, with solar, car, and USB-C recharge options
Cons:- 288Wh capacity limits how long essential devices can run
- 300W running output rules out many household appliances
- Solar panel and shoulder strap are not included, and compatibility excludes several Anker solar panels
Best for: People in apartments who want a quiet, lightweight backup for phones, a router, and a few lights.
Not ideal for: Households needing to run a refrigerator, large appliance, or several high-wattage devices through a prolonged outage.
- Battery capacity:288Wh
- Battery type:LiFePO4
- Running output:300W
- Surge output:600W
- Charging ports:8 total: 3 AC, 1 car socket, 3 USB-C, 1 USB-A
- Wall recharge time:50 minutes to 80%
- Weight:4.13 kg
- Noise level:25 dB at 3.3 ft
Our verdict“Choose the C300 for quiet, portable backup of small essentials, but pick a higher-capacity station for appliances or longer outages.”
UDPOWER S2400 Portable Power Station with 210W Solar Panel
For outages where the priority is powering demanding appliances, the UDPOWER S2400 brings the largest stated battery and output in this group: 2083Wh and 2400W, with a 3000W peak. That gives it more headroom for heavier loads than the BLUETTI AC180, while six AC outlets and a broad selection of other ports support several devices at once. Its UPS switching time of up to 0.01 seconds is a useful feature for equipment that benefits from fast backup handoff. The included 210W solar panel is a practical starting point, though the station accepts up to 440W of solar input, so that panel alone cannot reach its maximum solar charging input. At 41 pounds, this is a stationary home-backup choice more than a grab-and-go unit.
Pros:- 2083Wh LiFePO4 battery offers the highest stated capacity among these five picks
- 2400W rated output and 3000W peak provide headroom for demanding loads
- Six AC outlets and multiple USB and DC ports support many connected devices
- UPS switching is specified at no more than 0.01 seconds
Cons:- At 41 pounds, it is less convenient to move than the BLUETTI Elite 100 V2 or Jackery Explorer 1000 v2
- Included 210W solar panel falls short of the station’s 440W maximum solar input
- The three-year warranty is shorter than the five-year coverage listed for the BLUETTI AC180 and Anker SOLIX C300
Best for: Households seeking substantial battery capacity and high output for multiple devices or more demanding appliances.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a lightweight station to carry often, or who expect the included 210W panel to use the full 440W solar input.
- Battery capacity:2083Wh
- Battery type:LiFePO4
- Peak output:3000W
- AC outlets:6
- Maximum solar input:440W
- Included solar panel:210W
- UPS switching time:≤0.01 seconds
- Weight:41 lbs
Our verdict“Pick the S2400 when capacity and appliance output matter more than portability, and skip it if frequent carrying is part of your backup plan.”
BLUETTI AC180 Portable Power Station, 1152Wh LiFePO4 Battery
The BLUETTI AC180 strikes a useful middle ground between compact stations and the much larger UDPOWER S2400. Its 1152Wh battery and 1800W output can support a broader mix of household essentials than the Anker SOLIX C300, while its 37.4-pound weight and 11 outlets make it a substantial but still manageable home-backup unit. A 2700W boost mode provides extra output headroom for compatible loads, and AC charging is listed at one hour. The 20ms UPS switchover can help keep connected equipment powered during an interruption, though it is slower than the Elite 100 V2’s stated 10ms. Solar charging is supported up to 500W, but the listed 2.8–3.3-hour charge time depends on suitable conditions. This is a capable generalist, not the easiest option to carry.
Pros:- 1152Wh LiFePO4 battery provides substantially more stored energy than compact options such as the Anker SOLIX C300
- 1800W output with 2700W boost mode serves a wider range of loads
- AC charging is listed at one hour, with solar input up to 500W
- Eleven outlets and 20ms UPS function support home-backup use
Cons:- At 37.4 pounds, it is heavier than the BLUETTI Elite 100 V2 and Jackery Explorer 1000 v2
- 20ms UPS switchover is slower than the Elite 100 V2’s 10ms specification
- Solar charging is listed at 2.8–3.3 hours and depends on available sunlight
Best for: Homeowners who want a mid-capacity station for several essentials and value fast AC recharging and UPS backup.
Not ideal for: People who need the fastest listed UPS handoff or a lightweight station for frequent transport.
- Battery capacity:1152Wh
- Battery type:LiFePO4
- Running output:1800W
- Peak output:2700W
- AC charging time:1 hour
- Maximum solar input:500W
- UPS switchover:20 ms
- Outlets:11 total
- Weight:37.4 pounds
Our verdict“Choose the AC180 for a versatile, higher-capacity home station if its weight and slower UPS handoff than the Elite 100 V2 are acceptable.”
BLUETTI Elite 100 V2 Portable Power Station, 1024Wh, 1800W
The BLUETTI Elite 100 V2 stands out for pairing 1800W AC output with a stated 10ms UPS switchover in a 25-pound body. That combination makes it more appealing for sensitive connected equipment and easier to reposition than the heavier BLUETTI AC180. Its 1024Wh capacity is close to the Jackery Explorer 1000 v2’s 1070Wh, while its listed 3600W surge power gives it a higher surge figure than the Jackery’s 3000W. AC charging reaches 80% in about 45 minutes, and app control over Wi-Fi and Bluetooth adds a convenient way to manage it. The compromise is connection capacity: only four outlets are listed, fewer than the AC180’s 11. Buyers with many devices may need a power strip, and the vehicle-charging speed-up requires a separate charger.
Pros:- 10ms UPS switchover is the fastest stated here
- 1800W output and 3600W surge power serve a broad range of devices
- 25-pound weight is easier to manage than the BLUETTI AC180’s 37.4 pounds
- Reaches 80% charge in about 45 minutes and supports Wi-Fi and Bluetooth app control
Cons:- Only four outlets are listed, fewer than the BLUETTI AC180’s 11
- Vehicle-charging speed-up requires a separately purchased BLUETTI Charger 1
- Its 1024Wh capacity is lower than the UDPOWER S2400’s 2083Wh
Best for: People backing up a router, computer, and a few household essentials who prioritize fast UPS switching and a lighter carry.
Not ideal for: Households that need many direct connections or want faster vehicle charging without buying an additional charger.
- Battery capacity:1024Wh
- Battery type:LiFePO₄
- AC output:1800W
- Surge power:3600W
- UPS switchover:10ms
- AC charging time:About 45 minutes to 80%
- Weight:25 lbs
- Outlets:4
- Connectivity:Wi-Fi and Bluetooth
Our verdict“Choose the Elite 100 V2 for quick UPS handoff and easier handling, but favor the AC180 if you need more outlet connections.”
Jackery Explorer 1000 v2 Portable Power Station, 1070Wh, 1500W
The Jackery Explorer 1000 v2 is a strong fit for buyers who want roughly 1kWh of backup without carrying the weight of the BLUETTI AC180. At 23.8 pounds, it is the lightest of these two roughly 1kWh options, and its foldable handle helps when moving it between storage and living areas. The 1070Wh LFP battery and 1500W output can cover a useful set of essentials, while a 3000W surge peak adds short-burst headroom. App-controlled charging includes a one-hour emergency mode, but the default listed charging time is 1.7 hours; the faster mode requires app setup. Solar panels are sold separately and compatibility is limited to Jackery panels, so it is less flexible for buyers who already own another brand’s solar gear.
Pros:- 23.8-pound weight is lower than the BLUETTI AC180 and Elite 100 V2
- 1070Wh LFP battery and 1500W output suit a range of outage essentials
- 3000W surge peak provides brief additional headroom
- App offers an emergency charging mode and battery lifespan is listed above 70% capacity after 4,000 cycles
Cons:- 1500W output is lower than the 1800W BLUETTI Elite 100 V2
- One-hour emergency charging must be enabled in the app; default charging takes 1.7 hours
- Solar panel is not included and charging is compatible only with Jackery panels
Best for: People wanting a portable, roughly 1kWh backup station for essential devices and appliances within its 1500W output limit.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need 1800W output, four or more AC outlets, or broad compatibility with third-party solar panels.
- Battery capacity:1070Wh
- Battery type:LFP
- Output wattage:1500W
- Surge peak:3000W
- AC outlets:3 pure sine wave outlets
- USB ports:2 USB-C and 1 USB-A
- Emergency charging time:1 hour with emergency charging enabled
- Weight:23.8 lbs
- Solar compatibility:Jackery panels only; panel not included
Our verdict“Pick the Explorer 1000 v2 for a lighter carry and about 1kWh of backup, but choose a BLUETTI 1800W model for higher output.”

How We Picked
I ranked these stations for home-outage usefulness, not for camping convenience or a long list of ports. I weighed stated capacity and output first, since those determine how much energy a unit stores and which devices it can support. I also considered battery chemistry when specified, included solar hardware, and whether the listed specs provide enough information for a buyer to match a station to essential loads.
The higher-ranked options offer a more useful balance of capacity and output for common household essentials; compact units rank lower because their smaller batteries are better suited to short, light-duty backup. Models with larger capacities or a solar bundle have a stronger case for longer interruptions, but size, recharge needs, and incomplete product details can change the fit. Where the supplied information does not state a feature, I avoid treating it as a benefit, and buyers should confirm compatibility and operating limits before purchase.
| portable power station for home outage | Battery type |
|---|---|
| UDPOWER S1200 Portable Power S | — |
| ALLWEI 300W Portable Power Sta | LiFePO4 |
| Westinghouse iGen400s Portable | — |
| Anker SOLIX S2000 Portable Pow | LiFePO4 |
| Akiisolo GO10Y Portable Power | LiFePO4 |
| Jackery Explorer 300 Portable | — |
| MARBERO M82 Portable Power Sta | — |
| 500W Portable Power Station | — |
| GEYOTO N1000 Portable Power St | LiFePO4 |
| Anker SOLIX C1000 Portable Pow | LiFePO4 |
| Anker SOLIX C300 Portable Powe | LiFePO4 |
| UDPOWER S2400 Portable Power S | LiFePO4 |
| BLUETTI AC180 Portable Power S | LiFePO4 |
| BLUETTI Elite 100 V2 Portable | LiFePO₄ |
| Jackery Explorer 1000 v2 Porta | LFP |
Factors to Consider When Choosing Portable Power Station For Home Outages
Before choosing a station, I’d define what must stay powered and for how long. The right unit for a router and a few lights can be very different from the right unit for a refrigerator or medical equipment. These checks help turn the product specs into a workable outage plan.
List Essential Devices and Their Power Draw
Write down the devices you expect to run, then check their wattage on the label or manual. Add the loads you may run at the same time and compare that total with the station’s continuous output, not just a peak or surge figure. Motors and compressors can draw more power briefly when starting, so a refrigerator may need more headroom than its normal running wattage suggests. Avoid planning around every appliance in the house; prioritizing a few essentials can make a smaller station useful for longer. If the product page does not state surge handling clearly, verify the limit before relying on it for motor-driven equipment.
Estimate Runtime From Usable Energy, Not the Headline Number
Capacity in watt-hours gives a starting point for estimating runtime, but it does not mean every watt-hour will reach your devices. Conversion losses, standby draw, and changing appliance loads reduce actual run time. A simple estimate is to divide the station’s capacity by the devices’ combined average wattage, then treat the result as a rough upper bound rather than a promise. For example, a steady low-power router load can last far longer than a heater or cooking appliance on the same battery. If outages in your area often last overnight, prioritize a realistic load plan over a capacity figure alone.
Choose Battery Chemistry With Expected Use in Mind
Battery chemistry can affect lifespan, weight, and how well a station suits frequent cycling, but the product details provided here do not identify chemistry for every model. LiFePO4 is specified for the ALLWEI 300W, Akiisolo GO10Y, and BLUETTI AC180, making those details easier to compare for repeated backup use. Do not assume another model uses the same chemistry based on its brand or capacity. Check the manufacturer’s cycle-life conditions, storage guidance, and warranty terms, since those details shape long-term ownership. For a station that may sit unused between storms, follow its recommended storage charge and maintenance schedule.
Plan How You Will Recharge During a Long Outage
A power station is only as useful as your way to refill it when the grid remains down. Wall charging is convenient before an outage, while solar can help when sunlight and setup space are available; actual solar input depends on panel compatibility, weather, and placement. The UDPOWER S2400 is listed with a 210W solar panel, but a bundled panel does not by itself establish how quickly the station will recharge. Check supported input limits, connector requirements, and whether additional panels can be used. If you rely on solar, plan for cloudy days and keep a lower-power backup routine rather than assuming daily full recharging.
Match Portability to Where the Station Will Be Stored
Outage backup often means moving a station from storage to the devices that need power, so size and weight matter beyond portability for travel. A compact 88Wh model such as the MARBERO M82 is easier to keep nearby but is not a substitute for a larger battery when several devices need long runtimes. The 1,000Wh-class stations and larger options can cover more demanding plans, yet they need more storage space and may be harder to move. Check dimensions and weight, which are not included in every product name here, before deciding where the unit will live. Keep it in a dry, accessible place where cables can reach essential devices without creating a trip hazard.
Check Appliance Compatibility and Backup Limits
A portable power station is not automatically a whole-home backup system. Its outlets, output limits, and approved connection methods determine what it can safely power; never connect one to household wiring through an improvised setup. Sensitive electronics may benefit from checking the station’s output waveform and manufacturer guidance, while refrigerators and pumps need adequate startup headroom. If you need to power hardwired equipment or multiple circuits, consult a qualified electrician about an approved transfer arrangement and whether the station supports it. Confirm the exact ports and operating limits on the model you plan to buy, since broad capacity labels do not answer those compatibility questions.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can a 1,000Wh-class power station run a refrigerator during an outage?
It may run a refrigerator if the station’s continuous output and surge capacity match the appliance, but runtime depends on the refrigerator’s actual energy use and how often its compressor cycles. A 1,000Wh label is not a guarantee of a full day of refrigeration because conversion losses and startup loads reduce available energy. Check the appliance label or measure its consumption, then compare those figures with the station’s specifications. Keep the refrigerator closed and avoid adding other large loads if preserving food is the priority. For a critical refrigerator, test the planned setup before an outage rather than relying on a rough estimate.
Should I choose the Anker SOLIX S2000 or a 1,000Wh-class station?
The Anker SOLIX S2000 is listed at 2,010Wh, while several options in this roundup sit near 1,000Wh, so the S2000 offers more stored energy on paper. That extra capacity can support longer use or a broader set of low-power essentials, but it does not automatically mean the station can run every appliance; output and surge limits still matter. A 1,000Wh-class option may be a better fit if your outage plan centers on a few devices and storage space is limited. Compare the full output specifications, dimensions, weight, and recharge inputs before choosing. Start with your essential loads and target runtime to see whether the larger capacity solves a real need.
Are the compact stations enough to keep essential devices running overnight?
They can be enough for low-draw devices such as a phone, a few lights, or a router, depending on how many devices you connect and for how long. Models such as the MARBERO M82, Akiisolo GO10Y, and Westinghouse iGen400s have much smaller stated capacities than the 1,000Wh-class choices, so they leave less margin for extended use. Add up the devices’ average wattage and estimate runtime using capacity as an upper-bound guide. Avoid using a compact station for high-draw appliances unless its output specifications clearly support them. If keeping a refrigerator or several household essentials running is the goal, compare a larger-capacity option instead.
Does buying a solar panel with a power station guarantee useful recharging during an outage?
No. A panel’s rated wattage does not equal constant charging power, since sunlight, shade, panel angle, temperature, and the station’s input limit all affect results. The UDPOWER S2400 is listed with a 210W panel, but you should confirm the station’s supported solar input and the panel’s connectors before relying on the bundle. Solar may extend backup time during daylight, yet it may not replace the energy used overnight or during poor weather. Keep wall charging as part of your pre-outage routine and plan to reduce loads when solar conditions are weak. If solar is a major part of your plan, check whether compatible extra panels are supported.
Can I connect a portable power station to my home’s electrical panel?
Do not connect a station directly to a panel or wall outlet with a homemade cable, since that can create serious electrical hazards and feed power back into utility lines. A portable unit’s outlets are generally intended for plugging devices directly into the station unless the manufacturer specifies an approved home integration method. If you want to supply selected household circuits, ask a qualified electrician about a compatible transfer switch or other approved setup. Confirm that the station supports the required connection and output before buying. For simpler backup, use the station’s own outlets for specific essential devices.
Conclusion
For a balanced home-outage setup, I’d choose the Anker SOLIX C1000 as best overall among the listed options, while checking its complete output and recharge specifications against my essential loads. The ALLWEI 300W is a sensible best-value direction for lighter backup where its 256Wh capacity and specified LiFePO4 battery fit the plan; it is not the pick for long appliance runtimes. For a best premium, higher-capacity choice, compare the 2,010Wh Anker SOLIX S2000 with the solar-panel bundle on the UDPOWER S2400, based on whether stored energy or included solar hardware matters more. Beginners who need a straightforward starting point for small devices can look at the Jackery Explorer 300, while buyers focused on compact essentials should compare the Anker SOLIX C300 and smaller units. For more demanding backup, shortlist the 1,000Wh-class stations, then verify surge output, recharge options, weight, and device compatibility before deciding.

















